Upper Miramichi Rural Community Park
Address: 6335 Route 8, Boiestown (across the road from the Woodmen’s Museum)
The Upper Miramichi Community Park is approximately 19 ha (48 acres) of forested land operated by the Rural Community of Upper Miramichi. The park features a new basketball/hockey/tennis court and a Splash Pad for the kiddies to cool off during the summer. It also has great walking trails, a playground area, picnic sites, horseshoes and washer toss games. Washroom facilities available.
Address: Exit Route 8 at the Holt Road
The Priceville Footbridge is one of the great wonders of the Miramichi. All yourself to travel back through time on this suspension footbridge, which spans the mystical waters of the Miramichi River, joining the communities of Priceville and McNamee; commonly known as the “swinging” footbridge. On May 10, 1939, tragedy befell these communities when the Miramichi River was in full flood and the middle of the footbridge hung only a few inches above the water. The suspension bridge was caught by flowing ice and flipped over, breaking the support cables. Check out the rest of its history at the bridge.
Hike to see Fall Brook Falls
See our section called "New Brunswick Waterfalls".
Doak Historic Site
Address: 386 Main Street, Doaktown
The Doak Historic Site commemorates Scottish entrepreneur Robert Doak and his family who moved to the Upper Miramichi River area in the early 1820s. Here he established a carding mill, a grist mill and a sawmill as well as becoming heavily involved in the affairs of his adopted community. There was so much respect for “Squire” Doak from local residents that in 1854 when a new roadway was built linking the community with Fredericton and Newcastle, the village was renamed “Doaktown” in his honour. Visit the Doak House and note the architectural importance of its buildings and the richness of its original furniture preserved by several generations of the Doak Family. Come visit the new welcome center replica of Squire Doak’s original barn, featuring a gift shop and artifacts from the community.
Atlantic Salmon Museum
Address: 263 Main Street, Doaktown
Centrally located between the cities of Fredericton and Miramichi and boasting scenic views of the beautiful Miramichi River, the Atlantic Salmon Museum provides an in-depth look at the Atlantic salmon and its importance to this part of New Brunswick and to the world beyond. In addition to over 3,000 artifacts on display, there is a gift shop feature the best in “hard” ice cream (during the summer months), a small aquarium, and well-cared for grounds with plenty of picnic tables.
Tubing along the Miramichi River
Enjoy a lazy summer day of relaxation and fun for all ages. Drift on an inner tube down the Miramichi River. Rental places for tubing include Storeytown Cottages (506-365-7636), Wilson’s Sporting Camps (506-365-7962), and McCormack’s Outdoor Adventures (506-365-0803).
Old Mill Pond Golf & Country Club
Address: 6 Central Street, Doaktown
A 9-hole course nestled into the heart of the beautiful Miramichi River. The par 3 course will have you far removed from the hustle and bustle of life deep in the tranquil Acadian forest. There is a wide range of wildlife to contend with, like the golf ball stealing fox! The licensed club can provide you with a refreshing beverage on a warm summer day. The club is open May – October, 9am to 9pm, and as the summer progresses new hours are posted.
Doaktown Community Park
Address: 349 Main Street, Doaktown
Phone Number: 506-365-7970
Located at the heart of the Village of Doaktown is the Doaktown Community Park. This green space offers a link to the walking trail with a view of the picturesque Miramichi River, picnic tables, a chatting corner to mingle with friends and a splash pad for the kids. Open May-October.
Address 439 Storeytown Road, Doaktown
Experience year-round adventures on the Miramichi River. Located just minutes outside of Doaktown, they summer activities include tubing, stand-up paddle boarding, kayaking, canoeing and shuttle service. During the winter, you can enjoy snow tubing, sliding and snowshoeing.
Nelson Hollow Bridge
Address: Lyons Lane, Route 8, Nelson Hollow
The Nelson Hollow Bridge is believed to be the oldest covered bridge in New Brunswick and the only remaining covered bridge still standing in Northumberland County. It is located between Boiestown and Doaktown, over a small brook named “Mill Brook”. It is the only bridge in the province to have a cottage-style roof. The bridge was first constructed in 1870 and was rebuild in 1899. It is 24.5m long and spans Betts Mill Brook, about 4km west of Doaktown. In 1977 it was restored by the Doaktown Historical Society. The view is spectacular as you walk across this amazing structure.